Circle of Influence/Crock Pot Girls

Standard

I am first of all amazed at the traffic my blog received yesterday.  It still is astounding that I had 193 views yesterday alone.  That is my highest day now ever. (well out of 23 days) And I usually average 40-60 views.  So thank you for opening, reading and to some of you for subscribing and sharing.  Keep it up! And I will too!

Now on to the good stuff…

The power of suggestion and a circle of influence is not something lost on me.  I have attended enough and sold enough customer service training seminars for Fred Pryor Seminars that I know the power positivity has.  Let’s use a very recent example of suggestion.  Saturday night I saw a friend of mine in another state had “liked” Crock Pot Girls, a group on Facebook.  I decided to check it out and I liked what I saw so I “liked” the page too.  At the time the page had about 117, ooo members.  Not shabby since it was first posted on August 19th.  Since Facebook then posts that I like the page, 47 of my friends have also “liked” it.  The group has had such an immediate swell of followers that since Saturday night when they were at 117,000 they are now at …. 443, 502 followers.

The Crock Pot Girls are a huge grassroot success.  They are so popular they have had to quickly create a website for all their crock pot goodness.  I bet they are in complete shock.  Here is why this site worked.  It addresses a core need everyone woman has.  Quick, easy meals that her family can enjoy everyday.  Sure there are many cookbooks you can get for crock pots but what is missing in a cookbook is the “referral” for what to really try.  Who has the time to test all the recipes out.  But these 3 Texas women (2 who are MOPS moms) hit a hot point in every home each day.  I even have a friend who is going to buy a couple more crock pots so she can have her main dish, her side and a dessert ready to go a couple of times a week.  Amazing!  We want clear directions and referrals. 

A good referral is worth a lot.  Did you know that if you have a positive experience you are going to tell 4 – 6 people about it*?  But if you have a negative experience you are likely to tell 20 people.  That is harsh but true.  I bet you could tell me 3 “injustices” this week when your expectations didn’t get met, their was a major confrontation about an issue, or you misunderstood something.  We vent, complain and influence our circle that influences many in other circles by negative referrals.

So for now Crock Pot Girls are hitting the internet like crazy.  Bet they are wishing now that they had put a little bit of time into a business model for what could happen.  I don’t think they have any way so far to profit off their adventure.  Hoping they can take all this positivity for their passion of crock pot cooking and deepen their offerings so they can make some money.  As my Dad would say they missed the 6 P’s.  Prior Planning Prevents Pretty Poor Performance (his has a different P word for #4 but this is a family blog… ha!)  Those 6 P’s really sound true in most areas of my life.  I bet they can help you.  Start keeping an eye on your 6 P’s!!!

Next time you have a great experience think about how many people you shared that with and then also the flip side when something negative happens.  You will be surprised.

Another surprising stat on influence, is that it takes 21 positive experiences to override ONE negative experience. 

Check out http://crockpotgirls.com/!!!  I am impressed with the community they have built around crock pot recipe sharing. I wish them the best for the future! Or find them on Facebook as Crock Pot Girls for the dialogue and sharing, which is facinating.

* Happy customers who get their issue resolved tell about 4 to 6 people about their experience.
Source: White House Office of Consumer Affairs, Washington, DC, 2011  (this stat still holds up from my days at Pryor)

About Kristin

I started this blog thing years ago in August 2011. I have made attempts to blog over the past three years of seminary, but it was like writing when drowning. But I have completed the bulk of my course work, so I know there is a God. I am currently in my capstone creation phase this fall. This allows me time to unravel a little and renew my passion for writing my ramblings. If you like what you read, share what it stirs in you or even share it with others. I write for you from me. A little about me... I have celebrated 16 years of wedded bliss and reality with my best friend for over 17 years. We have 3 wonderful kids that are all unique, amazing and different in their own way. Our first born is nearly a teenager. He loves talking, Scouts, reading, camping and science experiments. Our daughter is a decade old. She is our creative soul and a planner! She loves to spend time dancing, singing and nurturing/teaching her babydolls and us. She is very sweet to her brothers. Last but not least is our daring 6 year old red head boy. He broke the "Wooldridge Mold". He is the fastest runner, our busiest explorer, our deep philosopher and biggest joker, oh and he gives the best hugs. You know the long lingering kind that truly fuel your soul to sing. I have been a stay at home mom for nearly 13 years and I have found a groove that works for our family. (That grove doesn't mean I have it figured out. It just means I am good with asking for help and having my family help us survive.) Twelve years ago, I joined a local MOPS group and I have been the Coordinator for 1o years. This group has given me a chance to lead without working full time, support other women in my community and help refine my walk with God. I also attend Central Baptist Theological Seminary. I am pursuing a Masters of Divinity and loving every minute of it. I am currently working on my capstone project, which a ministry guide for the MOPS group I have lead for a decade. It will serve as a touchpoint for those in leadership and also as a sweet offering as my goodbye to meaningful work that touched every part of my life and taught me that I am called to pastor. My life isn't perfect as the paragraph above makes it seem. But I have traveled through those harder times and found strength and support through them. Hoping to use this blog as a spot to write my thoughts, feelings and stories as I keep on living life! God Bless you and keep you. We each need to remember the Divine is within each of us. Be kind to yourself and to others.

3 responses »

  1. I love the Crock Pot Girls! I found them on Friday when they were “only” at about 25k likes and watched them explode over the weekend. It’s been a great ride. Part of what I love about what they’re doing is how it will work in a group/ministry that I’m already involved in. I’m part of the Funky Freezer Girls (www.facebook.com/funkyfreezergirls) where we exchange meals each month with friends and make an extra meal to be a blessing to a family not in our group. For example, if 10 ladies are participating that month I’ll make 11 pans of chicken enchilladas. I’ll come home with 10 different meals made by my friends. The “extra” meal that we all make is given to a family that one of us knows. Most times the recepient of our “ministry meal” is a friend of a friend that most of us do not know personally.

    Through our facebook page we are helping other groups form around the country and we are forming networks that could help others. For example, last winter a friend’s son had a brain tumor removed. If my friend lived in Arizona they probably would’ve been a family we blessed with a ministry meal, but they live in upstate New York so our group couldn’t help in that way. Through our facebook page we will (hopefully) build enough networks to bless families all over the country when the need arises.

    The ladies in our original group met through our MOPS group at church and, in September, our group’s founder, Jackie, and I will be teaching a workshop at our church’s women’s conference on how to start a freezer group. Here is a blog I’ve written with links to how our group started, how to start a group, my ministry meal “dream” and how it’s impacted my life . . . http://heidisathome.blogspot.com/2011/08/healing-power-of-food.html

    • Wow. Thanks for the post. I love your ideas on freezer meals. We have done that on a smaller scale.
      We take new moms meals and organize it thru a website.
      Thanks for posting. You were my first post from someone I didn’t know before! Exciting!!

      Have a great day and I will check out your blog.

Leave a Reply

