365 days have passed

Standard

Today marks a year in our home in Liberty.  We can’t believe that it has already been a year.

Last year on this day we had our kids at my parents’ and a friends’ house so we could move, move, move.  We were crazy.  And here is how it all happened.

Our house had been on the market for a little over 2 months. We were showing it pretty regularly and I was balancing a one year old and 2 big kids over summer break.  And of course keeping the house super show ready which is exhausting!  I remember getting Kaylee and Ian in on the cleaning action of last-minute showings.  Then we would either head to the pool, cruise the countryside around Liberty or head to a park.  Actually come to think of it, they probably loved running out for showings.

But that day came when Amon and I were at a loss on what our next step should, could or would be.  We had been praying separately, together and even praying when the realty showing company would call.  My cell name for the company was “Take a breath and pray”.  We were trying to give it all to God and let Him unfold what would happen next.  However we were getting impatient, crazed and did I mention I was in full swing of school getting ready to start for Ian.  We were hitting our breaking point.

So on Sunday, July 25th we were driving to Wooldridge family visit in Olathe and we had the “talk”.  The reality of this not happening soon was now real.  We were crushed but we felt that what was next was out of our control.  Amon decided right then to give it 7 more days.  If we didn’t have an offer in 7 days we were going to pull the house off the market and be just fine.  We both had peace about that.  Then we spent the entire afternoon with our family just relaxing, laughing and hanging out.  It was a great time and I truly felt at ease about the house.  So we piled the car full of our Wooldridges and headed back to Liberty.  After about 15 minutes Amon’s phone rang and it was our realtor.  She had an offer.  A real offer.  A good offer.  It was shocking.  We were so happy and dumbfounded.  But my husband, the ever cool businessman was already thinking about countering the offer.  We did and they accepted.  Then the next 3 weeks were the craziest of our entire lives.

We closed on August 10th, all our floors were replaced, added or refinished at the new house.  Most of the rooms were painted by Amon or our wonderful painter (let me know if you need someone I love to refer him).  When we came on the 14th it was OUR home.  It just needed Wooldridges to move in.  Ian started school 4 days later!!

We had loved our previous home of 7 years.  My Dad and Amon had put so much blood, sweat and tears into it.  Every room had been perfected and crafted to make it what we needed.  It was hard to leave.  We have actually only been by 2 times since we moved.

But 365 days have passed and we are so happy to be here.  We have made it ours and we love having friends and family over.

Many times I say to Amon when I wake up that I am so happy we moved.  I hope I can always say that.

I know that surrendering to God was the “tipping point” for us.  We trusted completely and stepped aside.  I know I need to do this more with my life.  What about you?

 

About Kristin

I started this blog thing years ago in August 2011. I have made attempts to blog over the past three years of seminary, but it was like writing when drowning. But I have completed the bulk of my course work, so I know there is a God. I am currently in my capstone creation phase this fall. This allows me time to unravel a little and renew my passion for writing my ramblings. If you like what you read, share what it stirs in you or even share it with others. I write for you from me. A little about me... I have celebrated 16 years of wedded bliss and reality with my best friend for over 17 years. We have 3 wonderful kids that are all unique, amazing and different in their own way. Our first born is nearly a teenager. He loves talking, Scouts, reading, camping and science experiments. Our daughter is a decade old. She is our creative soul and a planner! She loves to spend time dancing, singing and nurturing/teaching her babydolls and us. She is very sweet to her brothers. Last but not least is our daring 6 year old red head boy. He broke the "Wooldridge Mold". He is the fastest runner, our busiest explorer, our deep philosopher and biggest joker, oh and he gives the best hugs. You know the long lingering kind that truly fuel your soul to sing. I have been a stay at home mom for nearly 13 years and I have found a groove that works for our family. (That grove doesn't mean I have it figured out. It just means I am good with asking for help and having my family help us survive.) Twelve years ago, I joined a local MOPS group and I have been the Coordinator for 1o years. This group has given me a chance to lead without working full time, support other women in my community and help refine my walk with God. I also attend Central Baptist Theological Seminary. I am pursuing a Masters of Divinity and loving every minute of it. I am currently working on my capstone project, which a ministry guide for the MOPS group I have lead for a decade. It will serve as a touchpoint for those in leadership and also as a sweet offering as my goodbye to meaningful work that touched every part of my life and taught me that I am called to pastor. My life isn't perfect as the paragraph above makes it seem. But I have traveled through those harder times and found strength and support through them. Hoping to use this blog as a spot to write my thoughts, feelings and stories as I keep on living life! God Bless you and keep you. We each need to remember the Divine is within each of us. Be kind to yourself and to others.

Leave a Reply

